Publish date:



For five hours on New Year's Day, tens of millions of Americans spun their TV dials and saw enough football to qualify them as amateur experts. To offer the professional expert's view, SI sent Coach Red Sanders of UCLA, 1954's college football Coach of the Year, to the Rose Bowl; Oklahoma's Bud Wilkinson to the Cotton Bowl; Tennessee's General Bob Neyland to the Orange Bowl, and SI's own Herman Hickman to the Sugar Bowl, and here and on the following pages are their day's reports