Publish date:



Fifteen awards were made at the 22nd annual dinner of the Touchdown Club of Washington, D.C. to honor athletic stalwarts of the year 1956. Some of the nation's most distinguished men gathered at this time-honored affair, and among those taking part in the presentations were Vice-President Richard Nixon, Speaker Sam Rayburn, Hon. Joseph W. Martin Jr., Attorney General Herbert Brownell Jr., Admiral Harry D. Felt, USN, and Major General Reuben C. Hood Jr., USAF. Lined up in handsome array behind a hedge of trophies (above) are recipients of the awards. Starting at left: Jack LaSalle, coach at Sioux Falls College, S. Dak., whose squad won the small-college team award for sportsmanship; Bobby Saum, Alice Deal Junior High School, Washington, D.C., outstanding schoolboy player; William (Red) Mack, Bullis School, Silver Spring, Md., pre-college player; Wayne Ballard, Washington and Lee High School, Arlington, Va., outstanding high school player; Sal Maglie, Clark Griffith Memorial Trophy for Baseball; Forest Evashevski, University of Iowa, year's outstanding college coach; Jerry Tubbs, Oklahoma University, the Knute Rockne Memorial Trophy to the outstanding college lineman; Jim Bakhtiar, University of Virginia, outstanding player in the area; Lieutenant Ralph Guglielmi, outstanding armed forces football player; Hunter Faulconer, Episcopal High School, Alexandria, Va., outstanding prep school player; Dick Calgaro, Our Lady Queen of Peace, Washington, D.C., co-winner as schoolboy player; Alex Yunevich, head coach at Alfred University, Alfred, N.Y., award to small-college team. Paul Hornung of Notre Dame was given the Walter Camp Memorial Trophy for the year's outstanding college back, but did not make the lineup above. Awards were also given to Oklahoma as collegiate team champions, and to James Lee Howell and Frank Gifford of the New York Giants as pro football coach and player of the year.