Skip to main content
Original Issue


APBA and NOA 1957 outboard and unlimited champions


Held at Worcester, Mass., Aug. 21-25

CLASS JU RUNABOUT: Tiger Petrini, Annapolis, Md.
CLASS AU RUNABOUT: Dean Chenoweth, Xenia, Ohio.
CLASS BU RUNABOUT: Jack Hall, Pittsburgh.
CLASS CU RUNABOUT: Johnny Ennenga, Grand Haven, Mich.
CLASS DU RUNABOUT: Skip Forcier, Grosse Pointe, Mich.
CLASS 36 RUNABOUT: Dan Schwarzenbach, Los Angeles.
CLASS A STOCK HYDRO: Dave Hoggard, Trenton, Mich.
CLASS B STOCK HYDRO: Chris Erneston Jr., West Palm Beach, Fla.
CLASS C STOCK HYDRO: Frank Goodwin, Hanson, Mass.
CLASS D STOCK HYDRO: William Holloway, Tipp City, Ohio.

Held at McKeesport, Pa., Sept. 14-16

CLASS M OUTBOARD HYDRO: Don Whitfield, Verona, N.J.
CLASS A OUTBOARD HYDRO: Mel Kirts, Mishawaka, Ind.
CLASS B OUTBOARD HYDRO: Dave Christner, Quincy, Ill.
CLASS C OUTBOARD HYDRO: William Tenney, Crystal Bay, Minn.
CLASS C SERVICE HYDRO: Homer Kincaid, Carbon Cliff, Ill.
CLASS C RACING RUNABOUT: Rockey Stone, Willamina, Ore.
CLASS C SERVICE RUNABOUT: Ellis Willoughby, Springfield, Ill.
CLASS F OUTBOARD HYDRO: J.B. Broaddus, Lake Wales, Fla.


APPLE CUP TROPHY: Maverick, Driver Bill Stead, Owner William Waggoner of Phoenix, May 5, at Chelan, Wash.
DETROIT MEMORIAL TROPHY: Such Crust III, Driver Fred Alter, Owner Jack Schafer of Detroit, June 22, at Detroit.
INTERNATIONAL TROPHY: Short Circuit, Driver-Owner Chuck Thompson of Detroit, July 14, at St. Clair, Mich.
MAPES TROPHY: Miss Wahoo, Driver Mira Slovak, Owner Bill Boeing Jr. of Seattle, July 20-21, at Lake Tahoe, Calif.
GOLD CUP: Miss Thriftway, Driver Bill Muncey, Owner Willard Rhodes of Seattle, Aug. 11, at Seattle.
BUFFALO REGATTA: Miss Supertest, Driver Art Asbury, Owner J. Gordon Thompson of London, Ont., Aug. 17-18, at Grand Island, N.Y.
SILVER CUP: Hawaii Kai III, Driver Jack Regas, Owner L.N. Welsch of Seattle, Aug. 31, at Detroit.
PRESIDENT'S CUP: Hawaii Kai III, Jack Regas, Sept, 21-22, at Washington, D.C.
ROGERS MEMORIAL TROPHY: Hawaii Kai III, Driver Jack Regas, Sept. 22, at Washington, D.C.
GOVERNOR'S TROPHY: Hawaii Kai III, Jack Regas, Sept. 28-29, at Madison, Ind.
SAHARA CUP: Hawaii Kai III, Driver Jack Regas, Oct. 12-13, at Lake Mead, Nev.


100-MILE MENNEN GRAND NATIONAL: Bob Robbins, West Suffield, Conn., Aug. 24, at Worcester, Mass.
THOUSAND ISLANDS MARATHON (100 MILES): Bob Jacobson, Flint, Mich., June 9, at Alexandria Bay, N.Y.
MILWAUKEE SENTINEL-WINNEBAGOLAND OUTBOARD MARATHON (88 MILES): Bob Jacobson, Flint, Mich., June 30, at Fond du Lac, Wis.


CLASS A HYDRO: John Jordan, Haysville, Kans. New Class A hydro world record, 48.107 mph.
CLASS C RUNABOUT: Donald Johnson, Killeen, Texas.
CLASS B RUNABOUT: Freddie Goehl, defending champion and double winner, Quincy, Ill.
CLASS A RUNABOUT: Deanie Montgomery, Corsicana, Texas. New Class A runabout world record, 46.392 mph.
CLASS D RUNABOUT: Gordon McDonald, Houston.
CLASS B HYDRO: Tommy Christopher, Grenada, Miss. New Class B hydro world record set by Dieter Konig, 65.814 mph.
CLASS C HYDRO: Richard Haley, Blanchard, La.
CLASS D HYDRO: Bud Jones, double winner, Sioux City, Iowa.

DIVISION I (professional)
Held at Mt. Carmel, Ill., Sept. 7-9

CLASS A HYDRO: Vern McQueen, Springfield, Ill.
CLASS B HYDRO: Dieter König, Berlin.
CLASS C HYDRO: Bud Jones, double winner, Sioux City, Iowa.
CLASS C SERVICE HYDRO: Jerry Kerns, West Milton, Ohio.
CLASS F HYDRO: Freddie Goehl, double winner, Quincy, Ill.
CLASS C RACING RUNABOUT: W.C. Fields, Kansas City, Mo.
CLASS C SERVICE RUNABOUT: Bill Becker, Vermilion, Ohio.
FREE-FOR-ALL RUNABOUT, Tatum Trophy, Buck Kaufman, Sioux City, Iowa.
FREE-FOR-ALL HYDRO: Fox Trophy, Mel Kirts, Mishawaka, Ind.

As of Oct. 27

DIVISION I LEADER: Vern McQueen, Springfield, Ill., 10,829 points.
DIVISION IV LEADER: Dave Christner, Quincy, Ill., 38,921 points.