? A. When is a penalty shot awarded?
B. How is it executed?
•A. Three infractions call for penalty-shots: 1) when any defending player, including the goalie, deliberately throws his stick at the puck in his defensive zone; 2) when an attacking player in complete control of the puck is tripped or fouled from behind; 3) when any defending player (other than the goalie) falls on or holds the puck inside his goal crease.
B. Only one player shoots, starting at the blue line. The goalie is the sole defender, and the puck is dead once beyond the goal line.
? A wingman bats the puck in mid-air with his stick chest-high. Is a penalty called?
•No. Any player may bat the puck in mid-air anywhere on the ice, but his stick must not be above the shoulder line. He may also bat the puck with his glove but cannot hold it or deliberately direct it to a teammate.
? Are amateur players allowed in the NHL?
•Yes. They may play in five NHL games per season without losing their amateur status. Amateur "emergency" goalies may play in more than five games.
? A player's stick breaks, and a new one is thrown onto the ice from his bench. What happens?
•A player must go to his bench to receive a new stick. In this case he receives minor and misconduct penalties and must leave the ice for 12 minutes. (A substitute may replace him on the ice after the two-minute minor penalty has been served.)
? A goalie falls on a loose puck a) out of the crease in front of the net; b) behind his goal line. Is he penalized?
•a) No; this is legal defense, b) Yes. A goalie may not smother the puck behind his goal line, so a minor penalty is imposed on the goalie and is served by another player.
? A player's stick and one skate are over the blue line. Is he off-side?
•No. A player is off-side only when both skates are completely over the blue line and the puck has not crossed the outer edge of the line.
? When can a player legally cross the blue line ahead of the puck?
•Only when he is actually propelling and in full control of the puck; i.e., if he controls it with his stick even though it may be behind his skates.
? Team A attempts to clear the puck from its defensive zone. The puck hits the referee and is picked up by a member of Team B who scores. Does the goal count?
•Yes. Play is never stopped when the puck touches the referee.
? How many penalized players on one team can be off the ice at one time?
•Two. If a third player receives a penalty, he must serve his time but may be immediately replaced on the ice by a substitute.
? What happens when a player on the ice sustains damage to his equipment?
•Nothing. Play is never stopped for equipment adjustment except in the case of a goalie. Other players must leave the ice and are replaced by a substitute while play continues.