Publish date:

STEINBERG AT THE RACES

Author:

For two decades Artist Saul Steinberg has been a distinguished portrayer of the human comedy, in a style unmistakable for its line, wit and satirical force. Now, following in the tradition of Degas, Manet and Toulouse-Lautrec, he has found inspiration in the color and excitement of Thoroughbred racing. The paintings below and on the following pages are Steinberg's impressions of racing at tracks from Paris to Los Angeles.

ILLUSTRATION

ILLUSTRATION

THE WALKING RING

ILLUSTRATION

START AND FINISH

ILLUSTRATION

EYES ON THEIR MONEY

ILLUSTRATION

THE WINNER

ILLUSTRATION

NEXT CASE