Skip to main content
Original Issue

Calling the Shots

Next season John Madden will join Al Michaels on ABC's Monday
Night Football. In his 22 years as an analyst Madden has worked
for three networks and has had ten different partners in the
broadcast booth. Who was Madden's first regular partner?

a. Gary Bender c. Brent Musberger
b. Tom Brookshier d. Vin Scully

Longtime Phillies broadcaster Harry Kalas will receive the Ford
C. Frick Broadcasting Award during the Baseball Hall of Fame
induction ceremony in Cooperstown, N.Y., on July 28. Kalas is
the 26th annual recipient since the award was first given in
1978, when two men were honored. Who were those two?

Pair the play-by-play broadcaster with the college he attended.

1. Kevin Harlan a. USC
2. Charlie Jones b. Kansas
3. Jon Miller c. Maine
4. Gary Thorne d. College of San Mateo

The following analysts all won championships during their
professional playing careers. Place them in descending order of
number of titles won.

a. Troy Aikman
b. Johnny (Red) Kerr
c. Tim McCarver
d. John Salley

BOOM!: a. Gary Bender shared the booth with Madden during the
1980 season.

VOICES OF FAME: The first two recipients of the Frick Award were
Mel Allen and Red Barber.

THIS WEEK'S MATCHUP: 1. b; 2. a; 3. d; 4. c

CALL TO ORDER: 1. Salley won four NBA titles--with the Pistons
(2), Bulls (1) and Lakers (1); 2. Aikman led the Cowboys to
three Super Bowl championships; 3. McCarver was a member of two
World Series-winning Cardinals teams; 4. Kerr, a veteran Bulls
announcer, won an NBA championship with the Syracuse Nats in
1955, his rookie year.