Skip to main content
Original Issue

Bottom Lines

Rich Beem is the 12th player in 15 years to win his first major
at the PGA.... Before Justin Leonard's Sunday collapse, the
previous 12 majors had been won by a 54-hole leader. The last to
falter was Jean Van de Velde, at the 1999 British Open....
Thirteen golfers made the cut in all four majors this year, with
Tiger Woods shooting the lowest aggregate score (24 under).
Sergio Garcia was second (four under). Garcia finished in the top
10 at all the majors, a feat accomplished only 18 times since
1958, most recently by Woods in 2000.... Meg Mallon's win in the
Canadian Women's Open was the 14th of her LPGA career, while
Annika Sorenstam's victory at the Compaq Open in Sweden was her
eighth worldwide this season.... Adam Mednick of Sweden won for
the first time in 12 Euro tour seasons, at the North West of
Ireland Open.